2015 Fall Career Fair

Tomorrow is the Fall Career Fair. Last year, I wrote a post about the 2014 Fall Career Fair. Last year’s career fair was the first career fair I even attended. I went mainly for the experience rather than the hope of finding any internships. This year is different because junior year is the year you search for internships. Something I learned from last year is that I should prepare a list of companies I want to visit as well as a list of questions I may want to ask them. Another thing that  I learned is that you should know your resume cold, which may seem obvious. I remember that last year, one of the companies that I visited drilled me hard on every detail on my resume. I was a bit overwhelmed at how intense this process was. The difference between my resume this year and last year is quite notable. Not only is the content improved, but the overall design is much better. Comparing old and new, I can’t help but notice how ugly my old resume was…

I have already compiled a list of companies that I want to visit. Near the top of the list are the Big Four, several banks, IBM, and SIG. Over the past year I have realized that I want to move more into consulting or IT rather than software engineering, as reflected by the choice of firms I want to visit. Of course, this doesn’t mean that I will not visit tech companies; a lot of tech companies have their own consulting practices. On a side note, I realized that I didn’t bring up a pair of dress socks or any long socks for the matter. It’s a good thing I noticed today, so that I could go out and buy a pair.

About ludaniel17

Hi, my name is Daniel, and I am in the Computer Science and Business Program.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

