MATH 205 Linear Methods

I have always considered myself pretty incompetent in the subject matter of math because of my inability to comprehend the content. I always told myself “I’m a computer scientist, how will calculus help me with programming?” I used this as an excuse for my poor grades in MATH 022. My negative attitude followed me when I took MATH 205 last semester. I ended up getting a 65 on my first 205 exam and dropping the class a few days later. I am currently taking 205 again this semester. This time however, I decided to approach the class in a different manner. Usually I have a hard time paying attention in math classes because I find the content so dull and irrelevant to me. My current professor is very engaging and clear with his teaching, so I can actually pay attention. I also never prepared for math exams properly; I would simply try to look at the problems without actually solving them. This method works for me in most of my CSE classes because those classes or more logic based, but math requires repetition to stick. The combination of a better teacher and work ethic really made a difference. I can say that I am doing a lot better this semester in my math class (this class isn’t like calculus classes where there is an “easier” semester). For the first exam I scored a 95 and for the second exam which we recently got back, I scored a 100. The only regrets I have are that I hadn’t worked properly in my previous math class MATH 022.

About ludaniel17

Hi, my name is Daniel, and I am in the Computer Science and Business Program.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

