A Brief Introduction to JavaScript Seminar

Earlier today I went to another CSE seminar presented by another teaching candidate. The lecture was given by Dr. Pamela Wisniewski who is a post doctoral scholar at Penn State. Her talk introduced the basics of JavaScript, which is a client-side, scripting language for the web. Although I already took CSE-264 Web Applications, which taught me HTML, CSS, JavaScript and other web technologies, her lecture was not at all boring to me. I will go so far as to say this seminar was the best one I have attended (and I’ve attended nearly all of them). Her presentation and style was fantastic; she was enthusiastic, funny, and presented with great clarity.
It’s been a year since I took CSE-264 and I do not work regularly in HTML and JavaScript, so my memory of JavaScript syntax and how it works overall was rusty, but after sitting through her hour lecture I’d be confident in presenting a similar presentation. Dr. Wisniewski presented the material in a very interactive and clear, concise manner, so it was easy to let it sink it and learn. She taught an Introduction to Web Technologies course at UNC-Charlotte where she got her Ph.D. from and she talked about how she taught her students and then showed us an example of a professional webpage all of her students had to make. She noted that some of the students’ webpages were so good, they got jobs as web developers.

I was glad I was able to make this seminar because it was a great lecture and I took away a reconfirmed grasp on the foundation of JavaScript.

Below are some photos of Dr. Wisniewski giving her lecture at the seminar!

Edit1

Edit2

Edit3

-Ryan ’15

About luryan15

I am a senior Computer Science major at Lehigh University.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Brief Introduction to JavaScript Seminar

  1. Thanks, Ryan. I really appreciate the nice review. đŸ˜‰ I should Google myself more often.

Leave a Reply

