Note on Second Exams

In my last post, I wrote about the second round of exams here at Lehigh University. For this post, I am going to discuss a factor that may affect how hard you study for these exams. One of my friends is taking an ECE (electrical and computer science) course this semester. He told me that after taking the exam, the professor never gave back the tests. You would normally think that it would be harmful and make it harder to gauge how much you would need to study for the next exam. My friend told me that the professor’s reasoning is that the students should assume they did not do well so they need to study harder for the next one. When my friend explained this to me I dismissed it as foolish. However, this scenario ended up applying to me somehow. After taking one of my exams, I missed the class where we received our tests. The scores were never posted on the course site so I never found out what my grade was. I spent three weeks assuming I had failed the exam and that I would have to study a lot for the exam. It turns out I had actually gotten an A on the exam which relieved the pressure to do well on the next exam. If I had never discovered my score, I probably would have done extremely well on the second exam, but now I will be studying as if the exam is not too important.

About ludaniel17

Hi, my name is Daniel, and I am in the Computer Science and Business Program.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

