Resume Building

The resume is the single most important thing in a student’s search for a job or an internship. You can have fantastic credentials, but if you cannot convey your worth on the single sheet of paper known as the resume, you will have a hard time finding an internship or a job. Conversely, you may not be the best prospect, but if you play your cards right, people may think you would be a valuable asset to their company.

As a Computer Science and Business major, I was required to take BUS 001 my freshman fall. BUS 001 is Introduction to Business and gives students a general overview of what to expect as a business student. Students are assigned several writing assignments over the course of a semester; the second assignment is a resume. For me, this was the first time I had to write a resume. I struggled at first, but my professor helped me improve my resume to the point where it actually seemed pretty decent. Over the course of a year, I have been slowly adding things to my resume such as work experience. Today at the career fair, I will have a chance to see how my resume will fare in real practice. I will continue to revise my resume until it is outstanding.

Business students are required to take BUS 001, so all business students have a resume. However, other students are not required to have a resume through a certain class like BUS 001. This does not mean they are at a disadvantage. Career Services offers many resume workshops and will hold one on one meetings with students to perfect their resumes. Lehigh University does extremely well in caring for its students; it makes an active effort to help its students grab an edge in the job market. You cannot say the same thing about most other schools.

About ludaniel17

Hi, my name is Daniel, and I am in the Computer Science and Business Program.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

