Preparing for Job Interviews

Preparing for job interviews, technical interviews that is, has been one of the most difficult tasks I’ve had to do. Primarily because I never know exactly what I’m going to be asked. Each interview process can be different. It could be as simple as explaining what Object-Oriented Programming is and what the difference between an abstract class and an interface to as difficult as being asked to program on the spot or over the phone. Unless someone is an absolute genius I feel it is impossible to be fully prepared for a technical interview because there is always one question that could trip you up.

So, as I continue on my job search I have been looking everywhere for anything that could help me prepare better for the technical interview. Luckily, I stumbled across a book called “Cracking the Coding Interview.”
You can see it here:

IMAG0052

This book has been my bible for the past month or so. The author was a software engineer at some of the top companies; Google, Microsoft, and Apple. She was even on Google’s hiring committee. She takes you behind the scenes at all the top companies and what to expect if you’re interviewing for them. She then lays out essential concepts and data structures you should know inside and out before stepping foot into the interview room. The book most importantly has 150 questions/brainteasers and solutions that one would expect while interviewing. The questions are split among different sections relating to specific data structures and algorithms/concepts.

I have spent much of my time going through these questions and testing myself by picking one at random and attempting to complete it as quickly and efficiently as I can. I practice doing it on a whiteboard as well as actually coding a solution. Practicing on a whiteboard is important because in many interviews you are just sitting in a small conference room and are asked to write out a solution to a problem.

I recommend this book to every computer science student. It will help you prepare for the types of questions that recruiters will most likely ask you. If I get a top-level job, I will be writing the greatest review on Amazon to this woman because it would have played a huge role.

-Ryan ’15

About luryan15

I am a senior Computer Science major at Lehigh University.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

