Career Fair

This Thursday (9/18/2014) Lehigh University will be holding its annual Fall Career Fair. The majority of the students at the career fair will consist of junior and senior, but its not uncommon to see freshman or sophomores. While it is less likely to obtain a full internship as an underclassman, being at the event will give you a head start. This year, the career fair will be hosting over 150 companies from all around the country.

As a sophomore, I am attending the career fair more for the experience rather than actually trying to obtain an internship. Getting an internship would be fantastic, but the main goal is to get familiar to the fair so that next year I will know what to expect.

Because I am a Computer Science and Business major, I will be looking for business related companies that are in need of computer scientists. However, I have the flexibility of also looking for straight business or computer science companies. Most CSB majors will check out the Big Four auditing firms because they like to hire CSB students, and I will likely check out the Big Four as well. I am told CSB majors are highly marketable; I only hope that applies to sophomores as well.

On a related note, Lehigh does a great job in preparing its students for events like the career fair. Lehigh’s Career Services holds many career workshops, such as a resume workshop, year long. Yesterday, I attended a career workshop where I received resume tips and how to handle interactions with recruiters at the career fair.

About ludaniel17

Hi, my name is Daniel, and I am in the Computer Science and Business Program.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

