Circuit Simulation

As I started to take 300 level courses in ECE department, I get a lot of simulation homework. I learned Altium when I was a sophomore. It wasn’t a hard software to learn, but it is very tedious when it come to debug. For example, Altium does not accept 1M as the resistor value, and it only recognizes 1 meg. I put my schematic in Altium, and it is supposed to work. It is not. It took me half hour to realize I should put 1meg for my resistor value.

Another simulator I used is CircuitLab. It is a online simulator, all my schematic are saved in cloud and I can get access to that at anytime. It uses flash, so I don’t need to download any software to simulation. It very easy to use, and it is very easy to debug. However, it does not have as much features as Altium does. Therefore, I started to use those two together for my assignments.

I used CircuitLab in my room to verify my result to test if I can get the gain and the 3dB point I want. After verifying my design is fine, I went to the lab room, open Altium to start the another simulation to get a more accurate result.

Lehigh also purchased another software called Cadence. Many friends of mine claimed that Cadence is easier to use than Altium. I would like to try that for my later assignments to see how that goes.

 

Eva’15

 

About lueva15

Hi, everyone. This is Eva Chen from Integrated Business and Engineering Program studying Electrical Engineering at Lehigh. This is my third year, and I am excited to share my Lehigh experience with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

