College Life Is Digitized

At Lehigh, most of the professors post their homework problems, homework solutions, and and reading assignments through coursesite. It is students’ responsibility to check coursesite everyday for homework assignment, and to submit homeworks for some courses. In my freshmen year, I printed most of the documents out. As a result, my desk became a mass. At the end of each semester, I had to end up with throwing all the papers out.
I decided to use Dropbox to solve this problem. As most of the college students in the campus, I owned a tablet, a smartphone, and a laptop. For all the documents I downloaded from course site, I put them to my dropbox folder. If there is a reading assignment, I would just open up the document in my dropbox folder and read it with my tablet.
It is a different experience reading with a tablet than reading with papers. However, since all the documents came in digital forms through coursesite. I found it easier use dropbox to store my documents. As a result, I don’t have to go to library to print out documents all the time. By using Dropbox, I formed a habit to download all the documents from coursesite and put it into my Dropbox folder. Most of students here just go to coursesite and print out what they need. However, coursesite for our courses this semster will be closed after few months that semester is ended. Not saving necessary documents in students’ own folders will be really troublesome when they become seniors. For example, electrical engineering students need to do senior project at the last year. If they remembered they were doing something similar on their sophomore lab, they want to go back to see the circuit diagram. However, the coursesite course documents for sophomore year is already unavailable at the time.
The world is digitized. There are a lot of things we need to learn about technology. It can really help students to improve their efficiency on doing work. I am exploring tablet apps that can improve my efficiency. If there is something I cannot live without, I will let you know.

Eva’15

About lueva15

Hi, everyone. This is Eva Chen from Integrated Business and Engineering Program studying Electrical Engineering at Lehigh. This is my third year, and I am excited to share my Lehigh experience with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

