Programming Languages

In CSE-262 we are introduced to different kinds of programming paradigms and different types of programming languages. For the past two weeks, we have been learning Scheme, which is an example of functional programming. It is a dialect of Lisp programming language. The syntax for Scheme is much different from that of Java, C, and C++. In some cases, you don’t even need to define and initialize variables before using them due to the fact that Scheme uses strictly dynamically typed variables. There’s also a technique of lambda functions that allows functions to be assigned as values to variables or passed as arguments to functions. It is interested and fun to learn new languages, especially those that are very different from what I am use to. Eventually, we will be learning Python programming language. I will be sure to post some assignments we do in Scheme, and what I learn about Python.

Side note: Before Pacing Break, I had made a post about my first exam in CSE-109 Systems Software. I was not confident that I would get a good grade because I did not manage the exam time well enough and not thoroughly getting through each problem. We got out exams back yesterday and I did very well! My grade was 25 points above the class average, and my professor was very impressed. It was a great surprise first day back from Pacing Break.

-Ryan

About luryan15

I am a senior Computer Science major at Lehigh University.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

