ECE Lab

Every Monday afternoon, I have ECE Electronic circuits lab at Packard 210. For the past weeks, we were learning operational amplifiers. We are learning ideal op-amp during the lecture, and we are using op-amp 741 in our labs. Professor told us that op-amp 741 cannot support high frequency, so sometime we get weird results. For this week’s lab, I have to use op-amps, resistors, and capacitors to design a circuit. For each design, I need to draw the schematic, stimulate the circuit with a software called Altium, and then build the circuit in lab and take measurements to confirm its operation. There were three designs in the lab, and the last one took me and my partner for hours. We had to come to the lab Tuesday and Wednesday to get our result.

It is totally a different experience when you are in the lab. When I think all the wires are connect nicely, and it just doesn’t work. I had to check the connections, play with signal generator and switching op-amps because some of the op-amps might be broken. Sometimes, it is not circuit’s the problem, the signal generator might not work properly. The following are the picture I took during lab yesterday.

照片 2

This is the circuit I build with the circuit board. The black rectangle in the middle is the 741 operational amplifier. The probes are from voltage source, oscilloscope, and the signal generator.

Professor says that the labs are getting hard, and I enjoy being in the lab for a long time. Figuring out connecting among the wires, verifying resistance of resistors do not look like anything we learn from the lecture. You have to try it out, and as my professor said, “get your hand dirty!”

Eva Chen’ 15

About lueva15

Hi, everyone. This is Eva Chen from Integrated Business and Engineering Program studying Electrical Engineering at Lehigh. This is my third year, and I am excited to share my Lehigh experience with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

