Back from Break

Today is our third day of classes after our month long winter break. Winter break was relaxing, but I’m excited to get back into the swing of things. I managed to get all of the classes I wanted and I like how my schedule is looking for this semester.Image

I’ll give a brief rundown of my courses just to give you a little idea of what I’m doing

CSE 216 (Software Engineering): In this class I’ll be working with a lot of other people (around 14 or 15) to complete a large project for the semester. This focuses on the common engineering practices in software design and teaches us to work with other people in segmenting our code. There’s individual homework and some reports in there as well.

CSE 340 (Design and Analysis of Algorithms): This class is all about algorithms, of course. We aren’t doing any coding here, just the logic and math behind algorithms and how to solve problems as efficiently as possible.

Japanese Intermediate II: Seems like this will be just about the same as last semester with a slightly higher focus on speaking rather than writing. Should be just as fun though!

CSE 202 (Computer Organization and Architecture): I’m really excited about this class. I already know the professor and I like him, and the material seems the most interesting of all my classes this semester. We’re going to look at how computers actually work and run our programs from a hardware perspective. We get to work with assembly language so we can better understand the commands that the computer itself is running at a base level rather than at the level of whatever programming language we’re using. I can’t wait to get rolling.

CSE 252 (Computers, Internet, and Society): This is the class that I’m most dreading. Being a comp sci major, I really hate writing essays and anything that can be graded completely subjectively, and this class has exactly that. Although, the thing I hate most about opinion based essays is that I usually don’t have a stance on the subject. But in this case I actually do, so I’ll see if it’s going to be as bad as I thought.

Other than needing to write essays, this semester looks like it’s going to be a fun one. I’m really into my core subject matter at this point, so everything is interesting to me.

About lutyler15

I'm a Lehigh student planning on majoring in Computer Science and minoring in Japanese. I am the community coordinator for Lehigh's "Technology in Society" housing. I really enjoy video games and programming, so technology suits me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

