Fun with Programming Languages!

Today in my Programming Languages course we received our grades for the last assignment we did, which was to create a Lexer and Parser for a modified SQL language in Java. SQL is just another programming language, and the lexer and parser are what interpret the actual strings of code into something the computer can work with. I won’t go into too much detail because I’m not a professor, but I just found it so cool to finally learn about what goes into making a language. Now I know what’s at the base of each computer language and I’m finally one my way to being able to write my own language. And I’m really excited about writing my own language. While we did this assignment on a computer, most of our homework in this class is done on paper. I’m hoping that soon we actually start working on programming in different languages than on general concepts. I do find the concepts really interesting, but what programmer doesn’t have more fun on an actual computer?

-Tyler ’15

About lutyler15

I'm a Lehigh student planning on majoring in Computer Science and minoring in Japanese. I am the community coordinator for Lehigh's "Technology in Society" housing. I really enjoy video games and programming, so technology suits me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

