This is a picture of a finite state automaton(FSA).  It essentially describes how the compiler of a program traverses a program to understand what has been written in a language such as Java. (Although this tree is merely an example and not even close to the complexity of the FSA for java)  For my programming languages class, the first project is creating one of these FSAs for a simple grammar(rules that define a language syntax) and then coding, in Java, a lexer for turning a program into its basic tokens and then a parser to read those tokens.  this project is interesting because one almost has to think like a compiler in order to do it.

-Max Smith ’15

“The only thing we know for sure is that we know nothing at all”

 

About lumax15

My name is Maxwell S. Smith and I am getting dual degrees in Computer Science and Cognitive Science. I hail from Lebanon, PA which is about 15 minutes from Hershey Park and 40 minutes from Lancaster(Yes I have seen horse and buggies. No I am not Amish or Mennonite). As a person I like to work hard and play hard. I enjoy philosophy and deeper level thinking. Recreationally I enjoy doing things in nature like fishing and camping as well as playing video games. At Lehigh, I am involved with the local chapter of the ACM and I am a member of the Chi Phi Fraternity. In the fraternity I am currently our steward and Web/PR chair. Junior spring and senior fall I aspire to be the president. Generally I balance my academic life with my social life well and enjoy life as a whole. My life motto: "The only thing we know for sure is that we know nothing at all"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

