Back at Lehigh

This year promises to be a fruitful one.  After taking the summer to relax, the time has come to get back to the academics.  On the agenda for this year are two computer science classes in the fall, namely Systems Programming and Programming Languages, and a study abroad trip in the Spring that includes a robotics course.  I’ll take some time to explain the three aforementioned items.
Systems Programming-Although I have yet to get to the meat and potatoes of this course, I look forward to what it will become.  I have never taken a compsci course in which each programming assignment builds upon the classes, data structures, and functions from past programming assignments.  In my opinion, it adds value and incentive to each program being worked on, because it won’t just be another program collecting virtual dust in a repository somewhere.

Programming Languages-This class is exactly what I want it to be but not at all what I expected.  My assumption was that this class was going to teach us the syntax of many languages such as Python, C++, Ruby, etc. but it turns out that as computer scientists we are expected to be able to learn the syntax of a language from the internet or a book, as is the case in the real world.  Instead, this class focuses on the fundamentals of languages as a whole, and the differences between the different “genres” of language which include Imperative, Object Oriented, Functional, and Logic.  I loathe simple memorization and repetition, but crave explanation.  This class is sweet.

Study Abroad-There is still some grunt work to be accomplished but I am glad that Lehigh encourages students to study abroad.  It is a very possible reality for almost any engineer.  I look forward to seeing the structure and teaching style of classes in Norway, and am even more excited about the robotics course I plan to take there.  They have always interested me and Lehigh is willing to give me transfer credit for every class I am taking.

-Max Smith ’15

“The only thing we know for sure is that we know nothing at all”

About lumax15

My name is Maxwell S. Smith and I am getting dual degrees in Computer Science and Cognitive Science. I hail from Lebanon, PA which is about 15 minutes from Hershey Park and 40 minutes from Lancaster(Yes I have seen horse and buggies. No I am not Amish or Mennonite). As a person I like to work hard and play hard. I enjoy philosophy and deeper level thinking. Recreationally I enjoy doing things in nature like fishing and camping as well as playing video games. At Lehigh, I am involved with the local chapter of the ACM and I am a member of the Chi Phi Fraternity. In the fraternity I am currently our steward and Web/PR chair. Junior spring and senior fall I aspire to be the president. Generally I balance my academic life with my social life well and enjoy life as a whole. My life motto: "The only thing we know for sure is that we know nothing at all"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

